Bookmarks Winners Announced

Bookmark Awards Winners 2019

The winners for the 2019 Bookmark Awards have been announced! This year, the 11th Annual Bookmarks, hosted at The Forum, Bryanston on 28 March 2019, encompassed a record-breaking 76 categories, with over 750 entries. The Bookmarks’ 68 diverse judges assessed the entries based on stringent, results-based criteria, culminating in 142 winners that are truly representative of the South African digital landscape.

The Bookmarks are a true celebration of young, emerging talent in the digital industry. Leon Mwandiringa of Clockwork walked away with the award for Best Digital Youngster. Raphael Janan Kuppasamy and Jenny Groenewald from the Vega School were honored as the best digital students.

Jerry Mpufane, Bookmarks Jury President comments: “The work awarded at the Bookmarks this year, not only celebrates the winning work and leading talent in South Africa, it also becomes a showcase of the go-to case studies and inspiration for up-and-coming talent across the country, as the benchmark for digital excellence”.

Transformation was high on the agenda at the awards, with Digify Africa being celebrated for the Best Contribution to Transformation in the Digital Industry. Digital education was also emphasised in the award for Best Individual Contribution to Digital being awarded to Carmen Murray, founder of Boo-Yah.

Creativity with a social conscience was a strong theme with Mortimer Harvey and the Road Accident Fund awarded the Pixel for Purpose award for its #Always Remember campaign and Paulie van Wyk from the Daily Maverick winning the award for Best Online Journalist.

Paula Hulley, IAB SA CEO concludes, “South Africa’s fresh talent and most memorable campaigns were recognised, illustrating how far the digital industry has come and continues to set the benchmark and light the path for future innovation. This is why we celebrate digital excellence.”

Click here for the full winners list.

The 11th Annual Bookmark Awards are brought to you by Vicinity Media, Dstv Media, G-Star and our media Partners, Media 24, Business Live, The South African, IOL, AdJoin and BizCommunity.