Skip to content

AFROPUNK Joburg 2019 Line-up

AFROPUNK Joburg announced the lineup for its 2019 installment last night at an exclusive event in Braamfontein, Johannesburg.

The announcement was packed with celebrities, promoters, journalists and influencers. The MC for the lineup release event was the ever-energetic Nomisuperstar who also named the Afro-punk 2019 lineup.The queen of Gqom Busiswa (who is on the 2019 lineup) was also among the people that attended the lineup announcement.

AFROPUNK started off in Brooklyn, New York some 15 years ago with the purpose of providing black people an opportunity to build community within the predominantly white punk subculture and to provide a stage for black alternative performers that were not acknowledged in the mainstream and stood outside hip hop, R&B, soul, etc. The event has become one of the most sought after music festivals on the South African entertainment calendar.

The festival runs for two days and this year it will take place on Monday 30 and Tuesday 31 December 2019 at the Constitutional Hill in Johannesburg. Below are the ticket prices.

  • General Access Advance Two Day Pass = R1 100
  • General Access Single Day Pass Monday 30th = R600
  • General Access Access Advance Single Day 31st = R600
  • VIP – 2 Day Pass = R2 900

Some prominent local and international artists are on the line up, namely Solange, Miguel, Nao, Gold link, Sho Madjozi to mention a few. The full list of 2019 artists is shown below.


Judging from the line up released today, Afro-punk Joburg 2019 is expected to be lit and we give a “pat” to the organisers of the festival. Let us hope it lives up to the expectation!

Related Articles